How many cities and towns are there in the Philippines?

How many cities are there in the Philippines in 2020?

In 2020, the country had 108 component cities and five independent component cities. Seven of the ten most densely populated component cities were in Region IV-A.

How many cities are in the Philippines 2021?

The Philippines’ cities are spread across the country’s approximate 7,641 islands. These islands are divided into three geographical divisions — Mindanao, Visayas and Luzon. The country has a total of 145 chartered cities.

How many cities and provinces are there in the Philippines?

There are 81 provinces at present, which are further subdivided into component cities and municipalities.

Provinces of the Philippines
Populations 17,246–4,632,359
Areas 219.01–17,030.75 km2 (84.56–6,575.61 sq mi)
Government Provincial government
Subdivisions Municipalities and component cities

How many major cities are in the Philippines?


To date, there are a total of 146 cities in the Philippines, 33 of which are categorized as Highly urbanized cities, 5 are Highly urbanized cities and 108 are Component cities. Highly within Metro Manila are considered highly urbanized.

What is the smallest city in the Philippines?

Among the 16 highly urbanized cities in the Philippines, Marawi City was the smallest in terms of population size.

Table 1. Total Population Distribution of Top Five Barangsys: Marawi City, 2000.

IT\'S FUNNING:  Question: What is the Philippines government doing about poverty?
Municipalities Total Population Percent
Marawi City 131,090 100.00
Daguduban 5,503 4.20

What is the capital city of Philippines?