What was Myanmar called before 1989?

Who ruled Burma before 1962?

British rule in Burma lasted from 1824 to 1948, from the successive three Anglo-Burmese wars through the creation of Burma as a province of British India to the establishment of an independently administered colony, and finally independence.

Where is Myanmar and what was it called before?

In 1989, the military government officially changed the English translations of many names dating back to Burma’s colonial period or earlier, including that of the country itself: Burma became Myanmar.

What Myanmar means?

In 1989 it became Myanmar. The name comes from myanma, meaning the strong, as applied to the Burmese people themselves. (

What does the word Rangoon mean?

Noun. 1. Rangoon – the capital and largest city of Myanmar; located in the south near the Irrawaddy river delta. Yangon. Burma, Myanmar, Union of Burma – a mountainous republic in southeastern Asia on the Bay of Bengal; “much opium is grown in Myanmar”

What was Burma called before the British?

After the Myanmar armed forces crushed a nationwide pro-democracy uprising in September 1988, the country’s official name (in English) was changed from its post-1974 form, the Socialist Republic of the Union of Burma, back to the Union of Burma, which had been adopted when Myanmar regained its independence from the …

IT\'S FUNNING:  You asked: How much is the tax for online business in the Philippines?